Poems

Acedia

Image Credit: Aspenbreeze
Image Credit: Aspenbreeze

 

As the world above moves along

I settle myself for the day

I let the water cover me like a cloak

I sleep in the deep

 

my chest rises and falls

inhaling the heavy dampness

heralding the advent

of death

 

limbs weak, lifeless

pulled together taut

like a foetus in the womb

unaware of all that exists beyond

comforted by the constant rhythm

of its shallow breathing

 

the flight from what ‘is’

evokes images

of stories untold

stories of my life

grand peaks

towering above

piercing the light…

 

mere reflections

lacking substance

captivating me –

holding me captive

 

 

(Written for Cognitive Reflection Picture Writing Challenge #23)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Acedia

Leave a Reply

