Final Harvest

Written for Moi’s new challenge Once More With Feeling and inspired by the following quote from Markus Zusak – The Book Thief:

 “I’m always finding humans at their best and worst. I see their ugly and their beauty, and I wonder how the same thing can be both.”

Wheat_zpsed1d6587
 

As the darkness edged closer I felt the crisp wind cut me to the core, but then the warm sun laid hold of my thin figure sending a shiver up my spine.  I threw my finely plaited hair back and looked up at the sky.  As I contemplated the dusty blue blanket that covered the earth, a thin shadow covered my own.  It towered over me and I did not know whether to be afraid of it or in awe.  Its outstretched arms, an invocation of fear; the warm sun caressing my hair.  We all stood, as tall as we could, on the dry barren earth; the wind calling us to life, the sickle-stems summoning death.  Though we grew at different rates and our hues varied, some with short plaits, others long; though we settled ourselves in different places, though darkness and light did not cover us all at once, though some bore fruit and some none – we all ended up in those arms as we are.

 

sun fair e’er sheds light

shadow casts looming harvest –

final being that counts

One thought on “Final Harvest

Leave a Reply

