Repurposed

 
A friend recently gave me a poem of hers to ‘repurpose’, effectively making it my own; a challenging and inspiring exercise. I am grateful for the opportunity she has given me to tinker with her poem and am honoured that she would grant me the opportunity to refashion one of her creations. My friend’s poem is followed by mine:

 

The poetry of a heavy heart
When every little dream and wish hidden and every hope blown apart.
Brings us to the ground, to stand as we are.

Staring into the mirror, see the girl that once stood apart.
Yes, I see the eyes of who was once smart.

A gentle smile punctuates an old reflection …
Someone who once stood
With tender perfection.

Their Heart on their sleeve.
Unmoved by the eyes.
Felt deeply wounded by their reproaches
Born a Queen of holding onto their lies.

Do you like who you see?
No, she whispers, set me free …

By V
 
 

The poetry of a heart renewed
When every little dream and wish hidden and every hope blown apart
brings us to the ground to stand as we are

Looking into the mirror, you, who once stood alone
Yes, I see the eyes that oft-times passed for stone

A gentle smile kindles reflections spent;
someone who once stood
with fear before dissent

Her spirit set free,
unmoved by oppressive eyes,
wounded by their suffering
soothing fading cries

Do you like who you see?
Yes, she whispers, they are me…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Repurposed

Leave a Reply

