Poems

(untitled #1)

 

Starry Night – Van Gogh

 
The waves rushed over my corpse, thrusting me to the ocean floor; suffocating me, tearing at my lungs. The sun that bathed me not long ago, seemed to hide its face before the persistent night-tide as I choked in my own tears. Swaddled in darkness I lost sight of the ‘little loves’ and my heart softly floated away; into forgetfulness. The tips of my fingers bled blue, as my body, weighed down, settled on the sandy earth. I quietly slipped beneath the watery sheets hoping to sleep that day away, every day…

Little stars peek through curtains dark. Their sparkle breaks through the watery surface, carving a break in the waves; calling to me. A force majestic, filled and overflowing, overthrows the swells, lifting me to the surface, though I barely noticed its touch. As the air fills my lungs once more, a warm gentle breeze caresses me, lovingly. The sun is still there.

forgetful world sleeps
merciless waves rise and fall –
sun ever present

 

**********************************************************************************
Written for Haibun Thinking.

 
 

7 thoughts on “(untitled #1)

    1. I felt like this a number of years ago as well. I think so many people go through these feelings but don’t feel that they can talk to anyone. I would never wish for even my greatest enemy to experience this. I am hoping though that the little glimmer of hope came through at the end

Leave a Reply

